Let’s switch this up, how about I am proud of you
You’re still standing; you’re still here after all you’ve been through

I can remember the days when you just wanted to say
“Baby I can’t take it no more I just want to fade away”

But you held on still even through those nights you couldn’t sleep
Even through the times when it was hard for you to speak

Speak through the pain that this man put you through
Speak up through the awful and inhumane  things that he would make you do

I look up to your strength; I give thanks to it all!
Without your ability to endure, how would I, as your daughter, be able to stand tall?

You taught me how to keep moving, you taught me how to hold it together
That’s a lesson learned from you that I will hold on till forever

Without you even knowing, without you having a clue
After seeing all you’ve done I have found my hero in you

Nothing can change that cause, you’ve shown me the way
That’s something I hold dear to me and give thanks for everyday

What if you never fought, what if you did back down
How would I be able to hold my head up and step high
Because of you it’s courage that I’ve found!

How could I stand up and say “Because of this strong black woman
I have found my way!”

My way into society and be a loving wife and mother too
I’m trying to let you know mom I learned all that from you

So lift up your head and take pride in who you are
In my eyes and in my heart the very being of you is much brighter
Than the brightest star!

 

